top of page

Not Sure about Attending Therapy?

Thinking about going to therapy can be a scary proposition for some. Maybe you’ve never been to therapy? Maybe you are concerned you won’t feel comfortable or might be judged? Even today there continues to be much stigma regarding seeking help. We live in a society where we can sometimes feel like we should be able to handle our concerns by ourselves. I often frame therapy or counseling as something that anyone could benefit from or need at some point in their life. Therapy is about support, resources and a place to gain insight, feedback and direction. Therapy is different from talking with a friend in that you are able to meet and get help from a trained professional with expertise in areas such as psychology, social work, addiction counseling or mental health counseling. Meeting with a licensed therapist often means that the therapist has undergone graduate course work and a period of supervised practice and has taken a board exam to show their competence. In my Glens Falls, NY and Rutland, VT therapy and counseling practice I understand that the first session is critical as are all that follow. I practice form an approach that works to create a relationship with my clients built on trust and understanding. I understand deeply how important therapy can be and that you must feel comfortable with the process. I often refer to my approach as “user friendly therapy”. Take the first step and reach out to learn more about how therapy could help. I can be reached by calling 518-321-5592 or you may email me at markjgagnon@gmail.com

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
    bottom of page